< District Judiciary Kurram

District Courts Kurram

After the merger of erstwhile FATA with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in May 2018, the District Courts Kurram were established in February-2019 by the August Peshawar High Court Peshawar. A first batch of four judges were posted on 25th February 2019, who took charge on 1st March 2019. The founding judges with their hard work and dedication made it possible to functional the District Courts Kurram at Thal, within 24hours of their posting.

District Kurram

Kurram District is a district in Kohat Division of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province in Pakistan. Most of the population is Pashtun and the main religion is Islam (Shia and Sunni). Until the year 2000, when the old divisions were abolished, the Kurram District used to be part of the Peshawar Division of the North-West Frontier Province of Pakistan. The Kurram River drains the southern flanks of the Safed Koh mountain range, and enters the Indus plains north of Bannu. It crosses the Afghan-Pakistan border about 80 km southwest of Jalalabad, and joins the Indus near Isa Khel after a course of more than 320 km (200 miles). The district has an area of 3,310 km² (1,278 sq. miles); the population according to the 1998 census was 448,310. The Kurram River crosses the Afghan-Pakistan border about 80 km southwest of Jalalabad and in ancient times offered the most direct route to Kabul and Gardez, but the route crossed the Peiwar Pass 3,439 m (11,283 ft) high, just over 20 km west of Parachinar, which was blocked by snow for several months of the year.

Kurram District is currently subdivided into three tehsils:

  • Tehsil Sadda
  • Tehsil Parachinar
  • Tehsil Alizai